What's Inside

Make a Gift to Physical Therapy

Physical Therapy, University of Minnesota

MNDrive Logo


  Home > News


Geriatric Clinical Residency Graduation

Congratulations to Lizzy Sander, PT, DPT and Sam Vukov, PT, DPT who graduated from the University of Minnesota's Geriatric Clinical Residency on August 26, 2015. Lizzy practiced at St. Therese in New Hope, and Sam practiced with Centrex Rehab at Augustana Care Center in Apple Valley. Sam's clinical mentor was Debbie Hank PT, DPT, GCS, CEEAA and Lizzy's clinical mentor was Iva Carey, PT, GCS. The University's Geriatric Clinical Residency began in September 2010 with just one resident. When the residency begins it's sixth year in September 2015, it will be expanding to three residents and three clinical sites. We wish Lizzy and Sam the very best as they move forward in their careers!


Paula Ludewig, PhD, PT, and PhD Student Justin Staker will be receiving a $150,000 MN-Reach product development grant. The basic idea or their project is to use cell phone technology coupled with a mobile app to measure shoulder motion in clinical populations.

Bernadette Gillick, PhD, MSPT, PT, was the Plenary Hot-Topic Speaker at the American Academy of Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine Annual Meeting in Austin, TX in October. Her presentation was titled, "Stimulating Controversy, Stimulating the Brain: Non-Invasive Brain Stimulation as a Potentially Disruptive Change Agent."

Teresa Bisson, PT, DPT, NCS, APT, received an International Travel Grant Award for her travel to Niger in January. This award is given from the Global Programs and Strategy Alliance to support globalization efforts.

Arin Ellingson, PhD,has been selected as a K12 Scholar. This award will begin January, 2016 for two years. The focus of the award is to train scholars with engineering and other quantitative backgrounds to become successful rehabilitation scientists in basic, translational and/or clinical research.

Dawn Lowe, PhD, is a recipient of the Bob Allison Ataxia Research Center (BAARC) Award for her research titled, "Inexcitability of the muscle plasmalemma and strength loss in Duchenne muscular dystrophy." This project is in collaboration with Dr. Teresa Kimberley and will be carried out in part by Joyce Trost, RSC graduate student, as part of her doctoral research.

Congratulations to Drs. Paula Ludewig, Ward Glasoe and Arin Ellingson for receiving a competitive Research Structure Investment Award from the OVPR "Motion Imaging Data Acquisition for Musculoskeletal Mechanistic, Diagnostic and Guided Treatment Research."  (http://www.research.umn.edu/advance/RIIP-2015-awards.html) The grant is further supporting the infrastructure development for the bi-planar fluoroscopy with supporting funds from the Minnesota Partnership Grant, Physical Therapy, and Orthopaedic Surgery. Dr. Ellingson and Dr. Glasoe are Co-Investigators, as well as Jon Braman, MD in Orthopaedics.

Arin Ellingson, PhD, a new faculty member who will initiate a tenure-track Assistant Professor this June, has received a New Investigator Research Grant from the Scoliosis Research Society. The project aims to quantify the biochemical and mechanical profiles of intervertebral discs in those with adolescent spinal deformities using MRI.

Ann Van de Winckel, PhD, MSc, PT, received a Medical School equipment grant to support her project, "Integrated Motion Analysis and Biofeedback System for Upper Extremity Performance."

Bernadette Gillick, PhD, MSPT, PT was a Fellow at the 2015 Summer institute on Randomized Behavioral Clinical Trials. This 12-day intensive training incorporates competency training on 1) the conduct of randomized control trials, and 2) the planning, design and execution of clinical trials involving behavioral interventions.

Paula Ludewig, PhD, PT received the Catherine Worthington Fellow designation (FAPTA) - the highest honor among APTA's membership category. The purpose of FAPTA is to honor Dr. Worthington and inspire all physical therapists to attain the high level of professional excellence and impact in terms of advancing the profession she exemplified. Dr. Ludewig has been an active APTA member for nearly 30 years. She has a research focus of shoulder kinematics, and has amassed 62 peer-reviewed journal publications. As a principal investigator Dr. Ludewig holds external grants related to the risk of developing rotator cuff disorders and motion imaging for musculoskeletal diagnosis. As an educator Dr. Ludewig has taught numerous courses, including gross anatomy, clinical biomechanics and musculoskeletal rehabilitation.

Manda Keller-Ross, DPT, PhD is receiving the Nike, Inc. Loren G. Myhre Postdoctoral Award for an abstract submitted to the Environmental and Exercise Physiology Section of the Experimental Biology. This work will be presented in April at the Experimental Biology Conference in Boston, MA. Dr. Keller-Ross will join our faculty in March, 2015.

Katie Fandrey (Class of 2015) has been selected to receive the Student Award for Geriatric Research from the Academy of Geriatric Physical Therapy (previous Geriatric Section). This is the first time one of our students has received this award. Katie went above and beyond the expectations of her research group, completing an additional project and presenting it at the Geriatric Society of America's national conference last year.








Notice of Privacy Practices